Next Date for Discussion 


On April 27, 2021 at 7:30 pm we will discuss our next book. The meeting will be on Google Meet. Email mike@mdcsr.com to be included in the book discussion meeting. All are welcome and reading this month's book is optional.




  Books for Discussion

 

  • Tuesday, 5/25/21  How to be an antiracist by Ibram X Kendi
  • Tuesday, 6/22/21  The Glass Hotel by Emily St. John Mandel
  • Tuesday, 7/27/21  The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah
  • Tuesday, 8/24/21  American Dirt by Jeanine Cummins
  • Tuesday, 9/28/21  White Bird (Graphic Novel) by R.J. Palacio
  • Tuesday, 10/26/21 The Yellow House by Sara M. Broom
  • Tuesday, 11/23/21  Caste by Isabel Wilkerson

                          

Recent Books Discussed



  •  An American marriage : a novel by Tayari Jones  4/27/21
  • Another Brooklyn : a novel by Jacqueline Woodson  3/16/21
  • Fruit of the Drunken Tree : a novel by Ingrid Rojas Contreras  2/16/21
  • Parable of the sower by Octavia E. Butler  1/19/21
  • Less : a novel by Andrew Sean Greer 12/22/20  
  • Dopesick: dealers, doctors, & the drug company that addicted America by Beth Macy 11/24/20
  • There there by Tommy Orange 10/27/2020
  • The Island of Sea Women (the Maryland One Book) 9/22/2020
  • The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek 8/25/2020 (Two books in one month)
  • Before we were yours 8/25/2020 (Two books in one month!)
  • Reader's Choice Virtual Discussions 5/26/2020, 6/23/2020, 7/28/2020
  • Becoming by Michelle Obama 3/24/2020
  • Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens 2/25/20
  • ​​Born a Crime by Trevor Noah 1/28/20
  • All the Light We Cannot See, Tuesday, 11/26/2019
  • What the Eyes Don't See by Mona Hanna-Attisha,  Maryland One Book selection, Tuesday, 10/22/19
  • Something in the Water by Catherine Steadman   Tuesday, 9/24/19 
  • Hidden Figures  by Margot Lee Shetterly  Tuesday, 8/27/19
  • Educated: A Memoir   by Tara Westover Tuesday, 7/23/19 
  • The First Congress  by Fergus Bordeviche  Tuesday, 6/25/19
  • The Nightingale  by Kristin Hannah Tuesday, 5/28/19
  • Leadership in Turbulent Times  by Doris Kerns Goodwin  Tuesday, 4/23/19 
  • Sunburn  by Laura Lippman Tuesday, 3/26/19 
  • Things that Matter  by Charles Krauthammer Tuesday, 2/26/19
  • The Woman in Cabin 10  by Ruth Ware Tuesday, 1/22/19

Book Discussions (Video Meetings)

The Fourth Tuesday of the Month

 7:30pm


Looking for an interesting and stimulating activity?  How about a book discussion sponsored by the Laurel Library? All are welcome, just connect through the "cloud" to the next meeting​​​